DIY Chalkboard

Chalkboard paint is so much fun! I have always loved the idea of having a chalkboard in my house that I could change for the seasons and holidays. When I moved into my boyfriends there was a hook that said “walk me” that held our dog’s leash. One night it broke and then we had this ugly nail sticking out of the wall. So I went out and made my own little chalkboard.

All you need are three items:

PaintChalkBirch Plaque

You can get all these supplies at your local Michaels or A.C. Moore. You spray the board with the Chalkboard paint, the birch plaque is a very porous wood so it might take a few coats but that also means it dries faster. Once it dries, get creative! I usually look up fonts online and get some ideas from, where else but Pinterest!

A few quick tips:

  • Always use a pencil sharpener when working with chalk. It’s easy to sharpen and helps you get all those little details
  • Dip the chalk in water- it helps to bring out the color
  • Always have some paper-towels handy (both wet and dry for quick fixes)

Here are some of my pieces!

Untitled

 Tag your chalkboard pieces on Instagram at #TOGchalk

xoxo
Ellen
_____________________________________________________________________________
As Ellen had been busy making her Chalkboard, I was busy crafting one of my flower vases with chalkboard paint. I love chalkboard paint. I love going on Pinterest and looking at the different ways folks use it to upscale normal everyday household items. It’s superb from writing on glass containers for flour, sugar, salt, etc. or for mason jars as wedding favors. The things you can do with chalkboard paint are as endless as your imagination can take you.

Here I ran to my local Michael’s craft store and bought a bottle of FolkArt chalkboard Mutli-Surface paint and a paint brush. It was 3.99 for the paint and .50 for the brush. I also purchased a Chalk Marker from Target’s super sweet Dollar Bins. I used an old glass milk jug that I got from a local milk distributor.

chalkboardCollageMake sure you have a clean surface and put down some paper to catch any mess.
I chose a design for my chalkboard section and cut it out of paper. I then taped it onto the vase where I wanted it painted.
Paint a layer. Wait and hour and Paint a second layer.
Wait 24 hours for the paint to dry/cure.
Draw on your vase/jar/glass container. I wrote “flowers” since that’s what I’m using it for.

Tag your chalkboard pieces on Instagram at #TOGchalk

Enjoy

xoxo Courtney 

5 thoughts on “DIY Chalkboard

  1. Do you mind if I quote ɑ few of yoսr articles aѕ lоng aѕ I provide credit аnd
    sources back tο yοur weblog? Ϻy website іs in the exact ѕame niche as youгs and my users ѡould definitely
    benefit fгom some of thе informatiօn yoս provide here. Plеase lеt mе know іf
    this oҡ աith yοu. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

