Blazer on a Date Night

Living in the city of brotherly love as a single twenty something year old means that dates may arise and that you may need to dress up a little more than you normally do. Recently I joined a “dating app” and I was asked out to dinner by a guy. Being the typical girl that I can sometimes be, I instantly ran to my roommates room and pleaded on what in the world should I wear! She looked at me and stated “Don’t you have a fashion blog?” Sometimes even us fashion bloggers have a wardrobe crisis. Once I calmed down from sheer excitement, I found out where I would be going on this date and decided that I didn’t want to over or under dress for the part. I was going to a nicer restaurant and most people who have been there or heard of it told me to “dress to impress” and “dress cool.” Yes, I scratched my head just like you are probably doing. How does one “dress cool?” I looked my closet up and down and decided my best option was a blazer. I love that blazers are so versatile. It is a preppy school look and a business type look, but paired with the right items, it can be worn for many different settings. Needless to say I have acquired a lot of blazers in my clearance rack shopping, so I have a few choices to choose from. Seeing as I went on two dates with the same gentleman and wore a blazer for each date, I decided I might as well share “the tricks of the blazer trade” as seen through my perspective.

Date Night look #1:

100_4566100_4572100_4573

Top: J.Crew Factory Clearance
Blazer: Cynthia Rowley, TJ Maxx clearance
Jeans: Express Legging in Black
Necklace: PinkPineappleShop Crown Jewels
Bracelets: Alex & Ani
Cross-body: Coach Factory Clearance
Lipstick: Cover Girl Lip Smoochies (#text me)
Perfume: Aerie Sheer (discontinued)
Ulta Nail polish in freshwater pearl.

Date Night #2:

100_4583

100_4576Top: Cynthia Rowley, TJ Maxx
Blazer: GAP Clearance
Jeans: Express Dark Wash Skinny
Necklace & Bracelet: J.Crew Factory

Both outfits I paired with a simple pair of black riding boots that I got on clearance at DSW shoes.

I look forward to updating with more Blazer looks, but for now I hope that these two very simple pairings may help you with a date night look, or even a dressier yet casual look.

Tag your blazer looks on Instagram with #TOGblazer

xoxo Courtney

Leave a Reply

