Your Work Bag and its Accessories

Doc1So as a newer member of the professional workforce I have learned so much about “adulthood” and well, I ain’t all it’s cracked up to be! Plus I work with all mom’s, so needless to say I am the least responsible one, by far. They cook, they clean and remodel their house on the weekends. The only thing I finish on the weekend is my beer. They are ready at the drop of the hat with Advil when I have a headache or someone needs a quick snack, they hand over the goods. Their purses are filled with action figures and half eaten lollipops that they were simply instructed to “save for later!”.
So needless to say, I have picked up a few tricks from the mommies of the office.

A solid tote will never steer you wrong, it will last through the seasons and be able to hold all that you need, even if it is Superman. Some of my essentials have always included my sunglasses, some makeup for a quick pinch and lastly some random bobby pins at the bottom of my bag. For the most part though I don’t use a purse. I throw my phone, debit card and my Carmex, in my back pocket and head out the door.

My newly added accessories start out simple. Snacks, such as a Luna or Special K bar. You never know when you might need a bite to eat! Also, keep a notebook and pen on you because (especially with my blog) you never know when you might need to jot some information down. I always did carry make-up but never had a case, the last think you want at the bottom of your Kate Spade is foundation. So get a plastic lined make-up bag to keep everything in one place. Never be without an umbrella, either because spring is here! You want to be prepared even for a flash storm! Lastly a sewing kit. I was at a job fair once when my button on my blazer came off, luckily I had my travel kit with me!

Two items that are not pictured above but are so important are tampons and money! Weird combo I know but oh so important. So I don’t carry cash on me, EVER. I don’t know how many times I have gone somewhere for work and did not have cash on me. It is embarrassing and so awkward when you have to borrow money, so always keep at least an emergency twenty in your wallet. And lastly (sorry for the masses of men reading this) tampons, because you never know when you or a friend might be in need.

The tote is like your toolbox. It has all the essentials you need to survive when working the 9-5 and going to happy hour after. You want to be prepared BUT you don’t need to be a hoarder. Take what you need plus a little bit more. We want to be always ready like the Coast Guard, because, I’m sure there are times, heading into Toys R Us with a tired toddler is like fighting on the front lines.

So ladies what do you keep in your bag? Am I missing any essentials? Email at theoxfordguide@gmail.com or tag on Instagram #TOGpurse

Until next time,
xoxo
Ellen

Leave a Reply

