You Gotta Work With Whatcha Got

What if we all looked the way we wanted? Our ideal weight became reality, our worries about money washed away. Your love life is exactly the way you pictured it. Do you think we’d all be happier? Or would we just find new things to hate?

To be in love with our bodies is not an easy task. We can always find fault somewhere. We are never skinny enough, never toned enough, our hair’s too thin or our teeth aren’t straight. Well we can’t change out genetic make up so we have to work with what our parents gave us. We have to start to love ourselves, hating our bodies for the first 20 years of life seems like such a daunting task. Instead what we do is we pick what we love about other people, “God, her skin is flawless” or “I’d kill for her legs” but what about all of your amazing assets?! Even the women that our society idolizes have “problem areas” and things they would change about themselves. Never dwell on your weaknesses, instead find and build upon your strengths.

Hair

Personally I have thin hair and I hate it! I wish I had long curly hair that made me look like a mermaid or a girl in a Hollister ad. It took me quite some time and a lot of money to realize that no amount of hair product can give me the hair I want. Through trials and tribulations with hair styles, and I have had some doozies, I realized that it is just hair and can always grow and be changed in color.

The best bet is to ask your stylist for help! They know best, knowing not only what looks good for your face shape but what works for your hair type as well. Take a bunch of pictures on your next appointment so they can see your vision and you both can work together. I have gone to the same stylist Leah for years and we have a relationship where she will tell me if it will look good or not. So remember if you ask for a honest opinion, people will give you one and you may not always like the answer. Whenever I take a picture of a Victoria’s Secret model Leah just laughs because it isn’t feasible to make me look this way! So don’t get caught up in the Hollywood glamor. You have real hair, with all of its flaws, embrace it. Or just get a weave.

Skin

I have the skin of a hormonal, axe wearing 13 year old boy. I’ve been on acne medication for years, some days are good, some days are bad, but I gotta work with it. I will never be the face for Covergirl and I know that but I can make myself look the best I can. I try using a light foundation and give myself an overall “natural look” for work. Whenever I don’t need to wear make-up I wont but I do enjoy wearing it. So if I’m running errands and grabbing dinner with close friends, makeup won’t touch my face. If I’m going out though, for some reason, I try to hide behind my Sephora mask, which is something you should NEVER do. I put on liquid foundation, bronzer, highlighter, eye shadow, liquid eyeliner, mascara and lipstick, that’s a lot of make-up….

Remember to take care of your skin. Drink lots of water and take daily vitamins. These little task won’t cure it all but it will allow for more “clearer skin days”. Honestly, it comes down to you personally though. For example, my college roommate could practically rub dirt all over her face and never see a blemish. I on the other hand, breakout all the time. But if you look her family, they have flawless skin while mine, let’s just say thank god for Dermatologists.

I do love makeup though and all the fun you can have with it. My only suggestion is don’t hide behind it! Use it to highlight your strong points, if you have blue eyes then pull out those warmer colors to make that eye pop, you have high cheek bones then add some highlighter to really accentuate your bone structure. Check out some tips from http://www.listotic.com (some of the tips are a bit… differnt, while others are really good ideas!).

The best makeup tips and tricks!! Wish I had known these a long time ago.Photo from Listotic.com

Body

This is a demon we all have our daily battles with. We look in the mirror and hate what we see. We want to be taller, our chest is too small, our hips are too big. The list can go on and on but yet again, we can’t seem to find anything beautiful in the reflection looking back at us. Once you learn to love yourself and your body you can open your heart up to so much more. I’m not saying you should stop trying to make yourself better, but you don’t need to beat yourself up, there are far too many people out there who do that for you!

There are a few things we can do on a daily basis to help our overall look. First off, wear clothes that actually fit. I committed this fashion crime more then I’d like to admit but it happens. You put on a shirt and it’s just a little too snug and think no one will notice, then you sit there all night fussing and pulling that damn shirt! So whether it’s jeans or a blouse, remember, we want it to look as though it was tailored for you and you alone. Also, workout! It doesn’t mean you have to run on the treadmill until you feel like you’re going to keel over, but try something you like. I played field hockey in college, so when I came home the LAST thing I wanted to do was run or lift. I tried joining the gym but I would catch myself not going for weeks on end and when I finally would go I would just walk around socializing. So after a lot of trial and error, I found my fitness home, boxing! I love it and I get excited to go! So whether it is walking around your neighborhood or competing in the Tour de France get out there and get moving! Lastly check out this article, she has a great blog. Confidence is crucial to any fashionista, but it all comes from within. Don’t beat yourself up!

So be true to who you are and what you love. What other people say or do should not affect you! I know it is easier said then done, but just try to love the person staring back at you, trust me, only good can come from it.

 

So until next time all,
Stay confident and beautiful.

xoxo
Ellen

 

One thought on “You Gotta Work With Whatcha Got

Leave a Reply

