Wellies, Meet Summer!

IMG_4101-001

 

So Pennsylvania, the land of four seasons, cold being two of them. Even in the middle of July we can still get a cold front leaving you to watch the 4th of July fireworks in jeans and a sweatshirt. So add a little bit of rain and you have one dreary day. This is why we need wellies. Everyone needs a good pair of rain boots because (even though they may not seem it) they are practical. (Another one of my many not right fashion feelings is that) my rain boots should be stored away for the warmer seasons, but I wanted to embrace the light summer styles and incorporate my rubber boots. Here in PA when a storm blows through typically you have a cooler day ahead, but even if we do get to keep 80+ degrees the rain boot protects all of our other shoes from the mud and muck. How do we make the best of it? Grab those wellies and get on with your day!

I am more of a traditional kinda gal, so my wellies are a typical hunter green, but I would have loved them in red and yellow. I think that the bright colored wellies make some outfits especially when they’re coral or teal! They add some fun and color to what otherwise would be a drab day. So whatever color or style you choose, just make sure that you can still splash about even in your favorite summer dress.

Today I am sharing some of my favorite rainy day summer looks. It may not grace the cover of Vogue but I think an outfit with wellies and a topknot is the cutest thing going! So do you already have a pair of wellies to survive rainy summer days? I want to hear how you wear yours!

 

Their Style:

 

http://shechive.files.wordpress.com/2013/07/rain-boots-0.jpg?w=499&h=748http://shechive.files.wordpress.com/2013/07/rain-boots-12.jpg?w=500&h=750http://shechive.files.wordpress.com/2013/07/rain-boots-15.jpghttp://shechive.files.wordpress.com/2013/07/rain-boots-16.jpg?w=500http://shechive.files.wordpress.com/2013/07/rain-boots-18.jpg?w=500Wedding Blog Hunter Boots and a Bow Tied Puppy

 

When it comes to fashionable rain wear, we luckily have a lot of options. Plenty of designers have their own water-repellent lines to keep you dry from head to toe.

Rain boots accessorize and complete your look, rather than bringing it down. I’m a fan of loud solids or color blocking by brands like Hunter and Burberry. I personally rock my knee-high Hunters with any hint of rain on the forecast and have received compliments on the street for embracing such a bold boot. Short boots are good for those who don’t want the chunky look that a knee high brings. They also show off your style and a bit of color for those who are more on the conservative side.

So now go buy some of your own!

Burberry Elderford Check Rain Bootskate spade new york Rain Boots - Romi Bow248035Chooka 'Top Solid' Rain Boot (Women)

So don’t let the rain keep you fashionistas down!

Comment below and tell me your favorite ways to wear your rain boots or show me your styles with #togwellies on Instagram!

xoxo
Ellen

2 thoughts on “Wellies, Meet Summer!

  1. Great post! I don’t have to deal with unseasonable rain as much here in CO, but I know all about those rainy 4th’s from living in OR. It can be a bit annoying to have to pull out rain gear in the middle of summer, but at least those green Wellies will be cute year-round 🙂

Leave a Reply

