The Kindness of a Stranger

Kindness is a language that
the deaf can hear and the blind can see.

Mark Twain

Early in the summer, my boyfriend and I were caught in a really bad storm… on our bikes…. Needless to say it wasn’t the smartest idea but I was in a predicament and a half. I couldn’t ride anymore because the wind and rain were too strong. I hid under a tree for a bit because I needed to figure out a plan. Well as cars sped by to get home, many looked on with worrisome eyes but kept moving forward. Well I flagged a guy on to pass me and he pulled over and offered us a ride. He then said “well I couldn’t just leave you there, I just hope one day someone offers me the help I might need”. So being the social media junkie I am, I posted about our endeavors on Facebook. I wanted people to know that even in the worst of times there is still good in the world. So someone comments on there “Did he offer you candy too?” which for lack of a better phrase, pissed me off.

Now take 10 minutes to watch these two videos:

 

Do we live in such a state that when people do a genuinely good deed we have to question their motives? or mock them? Is it hard to be a good person or even just help strangers every now and then?  I want to think that we don’t but too often people make decisions on whether or not to be nice, on a case by case basis. Caring about others shouldn’t be a decision you make according to how easy or comfortable it is. When people do something out of the kindness of their heart they do it because they want to make someones day a little bit better. I want to witness happiness and believe in good. It should just happen, but sadly it takes an act of kindness from a total stranger to restore your faith in humanity.

I was visiting a good friend in Albany and we went out to get something to eat. It was HOT out I mean sticking to the seat, sweating just sitting there, hot. We turned the corner and noticed a homeless man under a tree. My friend (now this is a common trend for her) swung the car around and got out. She walked over to the man to make sure he was conscious. When she realized he was alright, she got back in the car like nothing happened. There was not status update, tweet or  an instagramed shot, she just did something out of the kindness of her heart and because she wanted to help someone.

Acts of kindness don’t go unnoticed, if you help someone the ripples can go on forever. I think we should all just try to be a little kinder to the people around us. Smile a bit more, be genuinely thankful when people go the extra mile. The guy at the grocery store didn’t have to hold the door for you and the bartender certainly did not need to tell you that you accidentally gave her an extra $20. We shouldn’t have to want to help others because the guy in front of you at Dunkin bought your order, you should try to do it every day and NOT share it on Facebook. Just because it isn’t shared on social media doesn’t mean it didn’t happen!

So we really do only have one life to live so let’s do our best to help the people around us. Tell a friend when you think they look nice or tell a coworker how great of a job you think they are doing. You don’t have to become the Compliment Fairy, just make it genuine.  Let people know that you are thinking about them and you are taking notice to the details that they bring to this world.

What do you guys think? Comment below, I’d love to hear your thoughts! ❤

IMG_6858

 

One thought on “The Kindness of a Stranger

  1. I love this article Ellen!! …and I loved watching the videos. They made me smile! I agree with you 100%..”Treat everyone with politeness, even those who are rude to you — not because they are nice, but because you are.” ~Author Unknown
    Great job Ellen!

Leave a Reply

