The Oxford Guide: What I Am and What I Am Not

I am new to the blogging scene and I feel at times I struggle to find my voice. I want everything to be consistent from my daily posts to my overall message. I don’t know what this will grow into. A 20 something try to find herself in the world? A catalog of my thoughts and fashion? Lifestyle and humor? I really am not sure. The only thing that I want to get across to all my readers is that I am here to make people feel more confident,everything from style to their daily life. My blog is a guide for people, for help, thoughts and ideas. Here are a few rules that are followed in every message.

 

[1] I want to give people an affordable option for “it” clothing

I’m on a budget, there is no surprise there. Louboutins do not trump groceries, even though I wish they could! I want to give people different types of options for different styles. Not everyone is going to feel comfortable in skinny jeans so I want people to know that isn’t all they “have” to wear. In all of my articles I try to give affordable options that cover all sizes and styles. Fashion doesn’t have rules and people need to know that they can wear clothes that they feel confident in.

[2] I will never post 12 different pictures of my daily outfit

How is that helpful to anyone? You don’t need to see all the angles of my outfit. Whenever I post about a particular style that interests me I always give a handful of options. But not just options I like. Options that (I think) cover many different styles. I don’t just want to showcase my closet I want to help build and develop yours.  Plus, I want my posts to have something behind them to give people styles on their budget.

[3] I believe in confidence and
supporting all types of styles and bodies

I don’t believe in belittling people based style or body type. I also don’t believe in changing people. None of that matters! I wear what I want and I don’t care what others think or say. That is how I want everyone to feel as they read my posts, I hope to build on confidence. Overall I hope my readers have fun when they get dressed every morning. I want to show people runway and street styles by how it’s worn. Then I find them the pieces so they can add it to their wardrobe.

[4] I am not always put together so NEVER think I am!

Yesterday I went out in a beanie because my hair stuck up in every direction because I honestly didn’t want to shower! My hair is thin and my skin isn’t ready to grace the cover of Vogue so at times I don’t feel very confident. But I have to work with what I have, so when you know why. Plus I have made a lot of fashion mistakes but I love trying out new styles because you never know what is going to work!

[5] I work full time

I would love that have all of these pictures as my own but there aren’t enough hours in the day! So my blog is set up that I use other bloggers and photographers work to help get my message across. I hope one day I can use my own work. But right now I have to work within my time limits. I love the girls that showcase their clothes and give multiple options of where to buy. Hopefully one day I’ll get there.

In the beginning I wouldn’t consider myself a fashion blogger.  I have a self deprecating character, I’m brutally honest, I have a clothing budget, I feel silly getting my picture taken because I’m NOT photogenic. But…..But I DO love fashion. But there is so much more that I love to share!
SO 2015, I’m ready for you and I hope you will join me on this crazy adventure!

IMG_1027

picture c/o Kate Spade
One thought on “The Oxford Guide: What I Am and What I Am Not

Leave a Reply

