Some Guys Aren’t All About That Bass

I’m bringing booty back
Go ahead and tell them skinny bitches that
No, I’m just playing.

The thing is I really wanted to like this song; it’s catchy and great to dance to! But the more I listen to it the more I can’t help but get enraged. How can you empower people if you are simultaneously oppressing others?

I applaud her for trying to shine light on the Photoshop epidemic because it’s a real problem but why intertwine name calling? She shames other women that she doesn’t feel are as “hot” as her. Yes I look like a boy in a sports bra and my ass isn’t as big as I’d like it to be but I love my body 100% because it’s all mine! And I have to love it before others can…

I am so happy for those who were comforted and encouraged by this song! But what about those who weren’t? What about the girls who tried to alter how they look so they fit a certain “mold” that Miss Trainor felt was her place to set?

And I’m only picking on “All About That Bass” because I just heard it on the radio but so many artists, movies and companies scrutinize people and their bodies. Victoria’s Secret tells us that an angel looks like a 5’11’’ Gisele but we all know that isn’t the case. My 86 year old neighbor still calls his wife his angel.

Being body positive is so important but it should be done without shaming. I don’t quite understand why people can judge another human being on their genetic makeup because honey that tells me A LOT about you. Maybe we should look a little deeper and get to know someone before we decide to hate them based on their jean size, skin color or sexual orientation.

Stop splashing around in your puddle of a personality and look past the physical features of people. It is 2015 and society as a whole is appalling! It’s easy to pick apart someone based off of their looks because not judging is hard for so many. I am not talking about “skinny-shaming” either, which I can’t even believe that’s a real thing and probably should be stopped. It all comes down to no one should be made to feel ashamed of their body and who they are. No one group is better than another. I guess all I’m saying is I’m disappointed in the people around me who feel as though it is their place in this world to comment on someone’s appearance.

Someone’s insecurity is only an insecurity because people make them feel bad. Yes “only you can control your feelings” but it’s the horrible things people say to you that affect your self-esteem and personality. I’ve heard a good friend of mine say “I’m the funny fat guy!” but why is the fat part coming into play? You’re a funny guy who would do anything for his friends and family, that’s all it comes down to.

Another branch of this crazy faux-motivation is ‘Fitspriration’. To me, it’s completely uninspiring and yet another way for the media to capitalize on dividing women based on their body shape. I like exercise, but do I look like the bodies I see in those images? No. I’m guessing that unless you’re a fitness model who takes stock in baby oil, it’s highly unlikely that you look like that either and the caption “Strong Is The New Skinny” does nothing for me. It appears to be another way of telling women that if you haven’t got a washboard stomach you’re a failure. I don’t buy it.

So, I can assure you, curvy girls don’t do anything ‘better’ but let me also say this, skinny girls don’t either. Not because of their body shape. There might be girls who can run faster than you, draw better than you, or do math better than you- but I will guarantee that it has nothing to do with how much they weigh.

Short, tall – gay, straight – black, white, purple – people who pee in the shower, people who SAY they don’t pee in the shower – NONE OF THIS MATTERS. At the end of the day, are you a person surrounded by love and happiness? If you have that down, all the rest will come into play.

Thoughts! Please, I’d love to hear! Comment below!

IMG_1027

10 thoughts on “Some Guys Aren’t All About That Bass

  1. I love this and completely agree! I’m a very small person and have no curves whatsoever and sometimes get rude comments like “why are you so skinny? do you ever eat?”. everyone should confident in their body 100% of the time. awesome blog post! xo

  2. I really appreciate the argument about how we need to stop shaming one group to elevate another. That is so on point. I am a curvy girl, and I still don’t enjoy being judged by my curves. I can see how this song is uplifting, but honestly, even within the curvy realm there are good curves and bad curves. And then what about when/if these curves change in 15-20 years. Is my bass not worth it anymore? Honestly? Unless I’m physically engaged with someone in …stuff…, I don’t want my body to be on the table at all. Get over my body and get into my head & heart.

    1. Beautifully put! We need more inner beauty in this world. I know too many people who are awful to their fellow human beings based solely on looks, it’s quite appalling. Thanks for the comment it’s much appreciated ❤️ body types don’t define a person..

  3. Exactly right, when we get to know the inner beauty of someone, does the outer beauty really matter that much ?? Knowing a person is the true test of their beauty 🙂

    1. I can honestly say that the people I surround myself are beautiful.. Because the would give the world to the people they love.. So society as a whole needs to stop being so shallow!! Thank you so much for commenting and sharing your thoughts! ❤️

  4. This. Everything you said. 🙂

    I’ve been both skinny and curvy. I have been happy both ways. I know so many beautiful people, and though their sizes may be different, their inner beauty comes through.

    I’m believe, truly, that we are all exactly the way we are supposed to be, and we are all beautiful, curves or angles.

  5. I get so frustrated by the value placed on any quantitative aspect of a person. Whether it is height or weight, BMI, % body fat, # of miles a person has run or calories burned…. I’m not immune to judging people… but I definitely try to keep it in check and make judgements based on observed character, work ethic and compassion. You are very right in that every body type has been on the receiving end of shaming and criticism. And most people, (if honest) at some point have made a hasty assessment based on another’s appearance (clothing, hair style, make up or no makeup, weight etc).
    I have been a skinny girl, a curvy girl, a sporty girl, a geeky looking girl, and even a girl who was mistaken for being pregnant when I wasn’t at all. And a part of me has never been entirely happy with myself, because no matter what… someone has something negative to say about any “category” I’ve been grouped with. I’m not blaming others for how I feel. But negative concepts heard “on repeat” are eventually absorbed by even the thickest skin.
    Let’s celebrate each other’s achievements and positive contributions to society and stop with the illogical conclusion that you know anything about a person based on how you think they look.

    1. This is beautifully written! Thank you for sharing! I just told a good friend of mine to think of all the people that she loves and admires in her life and the amazing thoughts and feelings that come with these people. Jean size and facial structure don’t even come into play!

Leave a Reply

