Birchbox: Month 1

BirchBox might possibly be one of my new favorite ideas/websites. Only second to my all time favorite Hautelook.

Birch Box is a monthly membership service. It costs $10 a month and you receive 5 deluxe size beauty samples in the mail. You can cancel the service at any time, although I don’t know why you would! It is all customized to what you want and need.

Plus you gain from reviewing! Each review is worth 10 Points. Not only are you earning cash to spend in the Shop (every 100 points is $10 to spend through BIrchbox) you’re also helping other subscribers learn about products they may not have gotten the chance to try yet.

If you’re a Sephora junkie like me, then you probably take advantage of their VIB or Beauty Insider program. For every dollar you spend you get one point. $100=100 points. At Sephora you can pick out one deluxe size sample for every 100 points. Think about that!! Essentially you’re having to spend $100 for just one free sample. With Birch Box you pay $10 a month and get five! Yes please! I’m so glad I got signed up!

They ship their box’s the first week of every month. I got my May box on May 18th. It was the perfect birthday present! I ran to my mailbox and ripped it open to see what was inside! So below are all of the items I received, which I gave my personal review on. Let me know what you think of the Birch Box concept. I cant wait to show you all of my goodies every month!

 

COOLA Face SPF 30 Unscented Matte Tint

COOLA Face SPF 30 Unscented Matte Tint - new

This tinted sunscreen is an amazing concept especially for the warmer months. It’s light-weight and smooth. The consistancy of this product is outstanding, and it gives my face the perfect layer of finish before putting my makeup on. In the morning, I first put on my moisturizer, follow with the COOLA Matte and then finish with a loose powder. Perfection! If you’re a Benefit gal this is the same texture as POREfessional and just as silky. It doesn’t give a great deal of coverage though so if you like a little more coverage this isn’t for you.

 

Whish Shave Crave Shaving Cream

Whish Shave Crave Shaving Cream

I rarely use shaving cream. I gave this one a go and I was excited to try it, thought this would change my mind. Well it wasn’t very full ( I know it’s a sample), I didn’t like that it didn’t foam up and I hated the Blueberry. It didn’t seem to stay on my leg long enough to shave and I didn’t notice a closer shave at all. People may enjoy it who use shaving cream normally but thumbs down from me.

 

Beauty Protector Protect & Oil

This makes my hair so soft and smooth & makes it smell like cotton candy and vanilla! But make sure to use a very small amount because a little goes a long way. I recently bleached my hair and cut it into a pixie and was destroying it by styling and straightening so this came at the perfect time. It does a great job of taming my frizzy hair without making it look weighed down. I use it on damp hair before I blow it out and I’m impressed with the smoothness. I will be buying this product!

 

I got a sample of this and it is AMAZING. So much more impressive than any other natural mascara. I didn’t have high hopes for it, but I was wrong. It makes lashes super long and super black. It dries well, wears well, layers well, and doesn’t smudge. It seems softer and really lifts while separating lashes. There is minimal clumping, plus it’s all natural! I will buy this product and tell everyone about it.

 

Proper Bar Soap Elderflower

Bar soap, like shaving cream, is not my thing. I hate the filmy feeling I think it leaves on my skin. This was quite the opposite of Whish because the smell was delightful. It was romantic and soft. I haven’t used bar soap in years, but was impressed with the richness of the lather and the subtle scent. I loved it, but I don’t think I will buy it. Very expensive for one bar but I loved my trial size.

 

Comment below! What do you think of the products? Will you try BirchBox? Email me with your favorite products too at theoxfordguide@gmail.com.

IMG_1027

 

Leave a Reply

