My Most Versitile Cut Yet: The Pixie

“All I want is a mohawk!”

I would say it over and over as I say in my stylist’s chair. I would look at my what seemed to me as a dull cut that came to the tops of my shoulders, and panic at the thought of change. I was scared at how I would be perceived by people around me, because honestly people want to look like Halle Berry not Miranda from Sex and the City.

My hair isn’t my favorite attribute. Color treated since the time of highlighting caps, thin and frizzy. I worked with what I had for years. Tons of trial and error but I wanted something more. I wanted to hone in on my personal style, I knew it would be difficult but exciting. Difficult in the sense that I would need to take my insecurities and wear them on my sleeve but exciting because I can now have my mohawk! No more hiding behind hair.

Leah, my hairdresser, is fabulous and daring. I showed her a few ideas of what I had in mind and next thing I new my little ponytail was in my hand. My stomach dropped like I just got off a terrifying roller-coaster but once I left that salon I felt ready to take on anyone or anything.

An article I wrote a few months back takes you through my daily thoughts. As I work with the style more and more I feel this wave of fierceness take over.  I went from never curling or styling my hair to wearing a Pompadour. There are days when I get a negative reaction from someone that turns my whole demeanor around and I want to crawl in a hole until my hair grows but then I remind myself that everyone has an opinion and it’s up to me to choose who to listen to.

Overall, I have learned a lot about myself. It’s weird that a change as simple as ridding the hair on your head can help a person boost their confidence. Every now and then though, I need to look at girls with the same style and remind myself that I am just as fabulous!

So here are some of my favorite styles and the reasons I chopped it off!

5 things to remember before getting that pixie | Inquirer LifestyleLong Pixie HaircutsПрекрасные девушки с короткими стрижкамиПрекрасные девушки с короткими стрижкамиCutWhippy CakeAs she shed her hair for playing the role of grisette Fantine in Les Misérables, Hathaway admitted she shed tears as well. But, alas, all that woe was for naught. Afterall, she took home the Oscar for Best Supporting Actress for her part in the film and soon became a force to be reckoned with on the red carpet, as well. Chic Layered Pixie Haircut

Are you a fan of the cut or ever thought “what if”? Have any of you chopped all of your hair off, or are thinking about it? What were your “growing in” tips? Let me know in the comments below!

IMG_1027

One thought on “My Most Versitile Cut Yet: The Pixie

Leave a Reply

