Birchbox: Month 5

Last month was Birchbox’s 5th anniversary and they had a box design done by subscribers. While it’s not my favorite box or design, it sent a much needed message of “you’re beautiful”. The products I got this month have me split though. Along with my samples, I did receive a discount code that I’ll most likely use combined with some of my points. Let’s get into the products!

 

Benefit Gimme Brow
Volumizing Fiber Gel

IMG_4321

 

Right now I am in the process of growing out my brows to give them a fuller look. Which as most of you know who have do it, it’s not the most flattering process. I always get my brows waxed at the Benefit Brow Bar at Ulta and they always fill me in with Benefit brow gel. I went to apply it myself to fill in my (right now crazy) brows and it just made them look even worse. It really accentuated them in a negative way, making my expression look cartoonish. This is totally a product I want to love but right now isn’t the time. The color was great against my platinum blonde hair and the product itself for being a gel was very light.

 

amika Bombshell Blowout Spray

IMG_4312

I don’t usually use a lot of blow out sprays because with my fine hair, the texture doesn’t really help. Too much product in my hair does more harm then good. I try to not wash my hair every day and sprays tend to bring out more oil. However, this stuff, quite the opposite. It’s gentle but gives me just the right amount of volume and the scent is to die for, when my hair is dry. I use this right before blow drying and really like the effect it has on my hair.I haven’t noticed whether or not its claims for strengthening/repairing work, but it does provide some nice shine in addition to the volumizing effect.

 

Harvey Prince Hello

IMG_4330

I liked this perfume, and it’s something I never buy for myself because I’m usually very indecisive when trying to pick one out. I like that this one is very fresh and has a natural smell to it which isn’t too sweet. I find the scent to be very light and floral with a hint of musk in it. Its like a late sunset smell. It’s not overwhelming, which is good for me personally because I do not like an overbearing scent for myself or the people around me. I get a lot of compliments when I wear it. Finding perfumes are hard but this is light enough that it really can transition between seasons.

 

POP Beauty POP Portfolio
Eyeshadow Palette

IMG_4324

These colors really do POP! So the name is perfect! The colors are great and they stay on all day with no primer underneath. Speaking of no primer, it is hard to find bright colors that show the pigment well unless you prime your eye lids first, but this palette requires no priming to get bright eyes! The only thing is I’m not good with colors or knowing how to apply to purple pallet I received without looking like a Muppet or Mimi from the Drew Carey show. So POP help a girl out here and give everyone a booklet of “How To’s” so we can all better utilize your product!

 

I didn’t realize this would have such a strong coffee scent to it. I understand that it says Coffee Bean in the title but I figured since it was going around the eyes it wouldn’t be so potent. I’ve been using this for a week now day/night. The scent doesn’t bother my eyes and it doesn’t linger once applied. I think does seem to make a difference on my puffy under eyes. Would I repurchase? I don’t think so, I’m looking for that Holy Grail eye cream that has little to no scent, dries quickly and solves my dark circle/bags problem and this just isn’t it, sadly on the product and my finding the perfect under-eye cream.

 

Last month has arrived! Can’t wait to show you what’s inside! Until next time my loves!

IMG_1027

4 thoughts on “Birchbox: Month 5

Leave a Reply

