I Still Remember When 30 Was Old

When I was 16, I had no clear concept of being in my twenties. Vaguely, I thought that I might have a sunny one bedroom apartment with a pullout couch, a gold retriever puppy, and the ability to have anything in my refrigerator like cookie dough and ice cream, setting that I stole straight from my cousin, the only young-ish adult I knew at the time). And God by 26, I imagined I’d be newly married and ready to have kids, certainly a real adult with a pleasant office job and a great gym membership.

To be fair, at 16, I also imagined college as a place where people wore sweaters and sat under trees talking about philosophy. My friends could do no wrong in my life and my parents were the worst people ever. My only job was to babysit and they only thing that entailed was watching the kids by the pool. I spent my summers sleeping until noon and riding my bike everywhere like I was in the cast of Stand By Me. Literally the only things I worried about were passing my driving test and field hockey preseason.

Adulting is hard and not one, present-day adult hasn’t stopped dead in their tracks while thinking, “Why the hell did I ask for this? Why was I trying so hard to grow up faster? For THIS? For this 9-5, bill-soaked, responsibility-ridden life? Why, GOD? WHY?”

Adulting is…

Using your lunch break to do something other than sitting in your car and playing Candy Crush. Maybe your run some errands or go grocery shopping because you don’t want to do it after work. After work, all you want to do is get home, change into your pajamas, eat dinner, and go to bed. It’s nice when you get things done during a slower time because Friday at 5 is not my ideal time to be running to Target. Using your time for good allows for the minimal “you time” you have after work,to maybe do other adulting things like meal prepping or cleaning. Or binge watching Netflix and eating ice cream for dinner…

Adulting is…

Deeming Friday as a hard no in the way of doing any type of social activity. It is a night used to order food, watch Netflix (it’s a staple in my life) and get to bed as early as humanly possible. Friday night chill sessions are my spirit animal. I use Fridays as a way to kick-start my  weekends. Friday night is used to decompress in the comfort of your own home, braless, make-up free, surrounded by cookie crumbs watching something delightful like Sex and the City reruns.

Adulting is…

Learning the art of packing your own lunch. It’s growing a passion you’ve never known for Pyrex dishes and Ziploc baggies. It’s getting a little too excited over the lunch you’ve built, knowing you’ll not only be satisfied with your yogurt and sandwich, plus you’ll be saving money. It’s feeling a sense of invincibility as you stroll into the office toting your lululemon bag (I own 6 of them because my mother is the type of person who just asks the 20 year old girl behind the counter if she could have one) with a level of a meal that would make your own mama proud.

Adulting is…

Owning it. I have to come to realize that I appreciate it so much more when someone just says “Look, I messed up, how can I fix it?” It’s okay to mess up. You create more work for yourself by making excuses. Whether in your work or personal life, you will make mistakes, and it’s alright! It’s admirable when someone owns up to it and even better when they don’t blame others!

Aduting is…

Spending money on the unexpected. Before you know it you need four new tires or your phone breaks and you need to replace the whole thing. It seems like every time you are “kinda ahead” life knocks you back down and come Monday you have $5 until next payday. But somehow some way you make it work.

Adulting is…

Accepting people for who they are. I’ve come to realize that people aren’t going to change, so don’t try to change them. Embrace the differences and accept who they are. Everyone comes into your life for a reason. Try to figure out why.

Adulting is…

Worrying about money. On top of spending on the unexpected, the necessities and yourself every now and then. Remember and try to keep your rainy day fund full enough. But what does that mean? How much is enough? Do I have enough for retirement? Do I need to worry about that? I’ve never been so stressed out than trying to figure out if I’m saving enough, if I need to save more and if I’m saving for all the things I need to save for.

Adulting is…

Giving gifts people actually want. I was the person who would scramble around the holidays and birthdays and buy a dumb candle or cookbook (THAT NO ONE WOULD WANT). I finally started buying gifts for people that matches their personality. Buying activities is fun too like, tickets to a play or a game. It’s a great feeling when you realize you made someone else genuinely happy.

Adulting is…

Skipping your workout to get more things done at work or home. Many work related issues overtook my need to go to kickboxing. In college after work I would have one foot out the door 5 minutes before my shift ended. But now it’s time to focus on your career and future because you need food and lights and this job pays for that. 

Being an adult is a lot of responsibility and a lot of worrying, but it’s also a lot of fun. It’s nothing I would rush to if I was a kid again,but honestly if you find yourself wishing the days away, STOP! Life is short don’t let it pass you by. It sounds like a cliche , but show me one person who knows where 2015 went and I’ll recant my statement!

img_1027

3 thoughts on “I Still Remember When 30 Was Old

  1. I love this! I am a freshman in college, obviously new to being an adult and very inexperienced, but as I read this I find myself agreeing with some of the things you’ve listed especially staying in on Friday nights with Netflix and eating junk food! So great, thank you for the share.

Leave a Reply

