Necessities for the Gal on The Go

Life post-grad has been pretty fast-paced for me; I pretty much went straight into  [what I thought was going to be similar to Carrie’s life from SATC] working full time. Now, a few years later, I’m slightly more grown up (I’m saying slightly because the only thing about me that’s more grown up is my corporate job) and I’ve learned a few tips and tricks to keep me sane when I feel like I’m running in a million different directions.

I’m a busy girl between my job, my gym schedule, coaching, and my little family…you get the gist. Most days I’m going from my 9-5 to coaching, or making a pit stop at the gym before heading back home. There are some days that I get to meet my girls out for a glass of wine, or four. And some  things make walking in the door at 9:30 a little easier. Here are my essentials for the girl on the go.

Long Wear Foundation

Whether your headed to your night job or out for a much needed happy-hour martini (or a few) a long-wearing, full-coverage foundation is key. An 8-hour day is a damn-long day, and for most of us twenty-somethings, we aren’t just getting ready to go to work for 8 hours. We have so many other things going on!

High Quality H20

Carrying a water bottle is a necessary evil all of us must endure, so why not make it cute? I recently got a S’well water bottle and it is the coolest (the pun was intended)! They keep your drinks cold for 24 hours and hot for 12! Now you can finally drink a warm cup of joe through your entire work day or hydrate before heading out to the bar. Plus hydration is key for your skin and no one likes a hangover so drink up buttercup!

$20 in Cash

I must warn you, keeping a $20 bill in your bag at all times is going to prove to be a challenge. You’re going to want to use it on shoes, lattes, and fashion emergencies. Don’t do it! This is for when you discover you’re debit card’s been demagnetized, your wallet’s been stolen, or you need cash to tip the valet or pay for parking.

Battery Booster

With our inability to unplug these days, some would argue that their beloved tech necessities are the most important of all our “essentials”. Having a dead phone battery doesn’t help when you need to Instagram your delicious martini or send an S.O.S. to a friend when your date goes sour. Make sure you’re always charged. My phone never leaves home without it’s best accessory, my Mophie.

Travel Perfume

These refillable travel perfume spraysEdit are perfect for your make-up bag or purse (I always carry mine with me). Just remove the top knob to your perfume and you can pump the travel spray full of your favorite scent. Sometimes the stress after your workday needs to be masked by Marc Jacobs.

Make-Up Removing Wipes

If you’re going straight to the gym after work, or even if you just want to refresh your face on your commute from point A to point B, wipes are a must. I break out really easily so I need to make sure that my make-up is off the minute I don’t need it on, like going to the gym. I like giving my face a little break every now and then.

Concealer Sticks

Concealer sticks are essential to cover up unexpected zits on the go! I always will pack at least some concealer but you can add face powder and bronzer/blush to the mix as well. And I usually touch-up my makeup in the car (Hey, I never said I was a good driver). This helps when you need just a quick adjustment because dark circles are a friend to no one!

Hair Help

7am hair vs 7pm hair are two VERY different styles. Bobby pins are a must (remember I have a pixie). Sure they might end up at the bottom of your purse, but they will come in handy when you need them most. Also a hair tie! Even if you don’t need it, at least be the friend that always has a spare hair tie.

Band Aids

You’re going out after work so your new pumps had to be worn. Well around 4:00 pm your feet are telling you something different. And since you’re a big girl you thought you could hack a whole day and night in 5 inch heels. Well jokes on your Prada Patty but thank god you have Band Aids to buffer the pain. And I guess they will come in handy if someone is bleeding too.

What are the go-to items you keep when bouncing from one activity to the next? Comment below!

img_1027

 

Leave a Reply

