These Are My People

Best friends are those people that will always be by your side no matter what you do or how you act. They are the ones who help build your confidence to prepare you for the world ahead. They are the ones who let you know no matter what, you will never be alone. No matter the men or women that come into our lives, they will stand strong next to us.
Going out with your girlfriends is the best! From getting ready to dancing the night away, they just make everything better. They can fix a bad week, a fight with a boyfriend or just show you that you can still hang like you are in college.

Moving home after college I was extremely lost. I was thrown into a new world with added responsibility. One day I am singing karaoke with dollar beers then I’m going on interviews and trying to hide my inexperience of business with my whit and sharp tongue. There was one constant in my life that would never change and that was my best friends. The people who would never let me walk alone or let me feel that I was less then perfection. They are the people who tell me how it is whether I want to hear it or not..

I will never forget sitting in the car in high school, the world at our feet, my best friend looked at me and told me she had to tell me something. I came back with “we don’t judge in this car” and that has held true nine years later. No matter what I told them, no matter how many times they picked me up when I hit rock bottom, they were there.

Then I went away to college! That’s right my parents wanted me to leave my friends to make new ones! They told me “it would be good for me” and “I needed it”. ARE THEY NUTS?! I have everyone I need right here! I don’t need to go to college and I DON’T need new friends. Well I couldn’t have been more wrong. The people I met in college changed my life forever. They helped mold me into the person that I am today. But here is the kicker, the people I consider my best friends, old and new, never wanted to change me. They knew I was anal, talkative, sensitive and bold, but our personalities made each other better people.

In college, so many hours were spent talking until dawn about our dreams, goals, fears and life in general. Yes! of course vodka was involved but it made the conversation flow. We would talk about everything from our children’s names, to politics, to why blue is really “my color”. No conversation was ever left unturned.

I don’t know how people go through life without a best friend. Without that person to rely on, to always be there even if you don’t talk every day. I can honestly say my best friends know EVERY gritty detail about my life. They also know when you’re lying and bullshitting people. They don’t call you out on it, they let it ride, until you get in the car. They’re the ones who will help bail you out of any situation that involves the local police department.

I guess I just wanted to say thank you to all of those people out there who have helped mold me into the person I have become. And to my best friends who were there through it all and loved for me all my quirks (that is a polite way of putting it!) Just remember life is too short not to enjoy every day. So go out there hang out with the girls, leave the phones and guys at home and have a night about you!

img_1027

One thought on “These Are My People

Leave a Reply

