NEPA Spotlight: The Post Home and Body

So many are guilty in taking the world around us for granted. We run through our daily motions, looking on with lethargic eyes. We begin to operate on autopilot throughout our days- that eventually turn into months and then onto years. It is the mentality that you have seen this a million times and there isn’t anything new. There is nothing interesting or inspiring that can be derived from our same old sights and routines. We forget what it is like to look on with wanderlust and curiosity.

If you have been taking  your own backyard for granted, perhaps you might consider some new homegrown adventures. Get some inspiration, seek out something interesting or allow yourself to take in the beauty of your own city.

This is where I want to feature and show off some new places and spaces that I discovered and rediscovered in my home town adventures. These will be my personal comments and thoughts about my experiences- nothing is sponsored so I hope you enjoy my opinion. This will be the first ever NEPA Spotlight and I want to introduce you to a store that I fell in love with this past weekend.

The Post Home and Body

When I walked into this little shop in Scranton I was immediately entranced by the aroma that radiated the moment you walked through the door. Ashley immediately introduced herself and offered any help or advice we might need- all while she was mixing and creating in here workshop. The natural products immediately grabbed my attention. A few months back I began the process of cutting out all of the unnecessary additives in my daily life. From make-up to hair products to cleaning supplies- there is so much we put into a body that doesn’t belong, it’s nice to find local products that are natural.

As I began to look a little closer I took notice to all of the unique pieces that adorned the shelves. Everything from coasters with your favorite book pages on them to Parisian tea that smelled just as delightful as it looked. There were two-sided bibs, homemade dog treats, along with stationary and wrapping paper that would beautify any present. All of these products sat on amazing handpicked antiques. There were pillows made from printed dish cloths and adorable gifts any bride would love to received. There was local honey and jam and the most adorable utensils to accompany them!

There were the most adorable cross-stitch pieces hanging on the wall. There were wooden toys that would be perfect for the little ones in your life. Oh! And we can’t forget our four legged friends because they can leave with some delightful treats that are fit for humans!

We got to talking about all of the unique gifts and Ashley began to explain how she goes about finding the products she sells in her stores. This is when the light-bulb went on in my head. She said that she tries to find all local products within a tri-state area. How cool! She researches and discovers some pretty amazing products- products you can’t find in a mall or department store.

This doesn’t even begin to touch upon half of what this adorable store has to offer. From the website I gathered so much more exciting information! She does “Maker Sessions” where you can – you guessed it – make your own product, like lip balms and candles from raw, natural ingredients. Want to learn a little more? Check out this video Ashley has posted on her website. Or even better you can go visit her!

334 Adams Ave. Scranton, PA
(570) 955-3135

Tue – Wed: 11:00 am – 5:00 pm
Thu – Fri: 11:00 am – 6:00 pm
Sat: 11:00 am – 5:00 pm

NEPA this is when I look to all of you! I need your help- comment, email and share your favorite places. I want to see and explore and most importantly I want to show everyone all that we as a small town have to offer. So go forth and be the explorer you are meant to be, even if it’s in your own backyard and don’t forget to email me while you do so at theoxfordguide@gmail.com.

I hope that more people will be able to see life with a fresh pair of eyes with each new day as opposed to looking at life in the same old lethargic manner. For it is the spark of life in the glint of someone’s eye that speaks of how genuinely alive someone is in that instance and I have a secret wish that these instances are not just fleeting moments, but moments we can prolong into states and states we can live in for extended periods in time.

img_1027

.

Leave a Reply

