So I’m Growing Out My Pixie Cut

So I decided to grow out my pixie. I found myself lusting over top knots and beach waves- things that my 2 inch locks just can’t achieve. So I decided it’s time. I won’t lie- the whole concept has me terrified – the dreaded awkward length, the reintroduction of the curling iron, the uncooperativeness of unruly thin/fine hair in general. I’m more scared now then when I was when I cut it- it seems like such a daunting task but I hear it is possible. But I feel I’ll be the one screaming to the stylist after two months of trying and saying “I can’t do this anymore! It’s awful and my hair hates me! CUT IT OFF!”

After rocking your pixie for a while, you might decide you kind of miss the ponytail option. Since there isn’t a miracle growth pill you can take, we must wait for those luscious locks to grow back.

No problem, you’ll just grow it out.

You research other people’s attempts online and hope you’ll be one of those people whose hair just naturally grows gracefully.

But you already know you’re not that girl

At first it’s not so bad.

This Is What It's Like To Grow Out A Pixie Cut

Then they tell you to let it grow long and keep the back short and all I picture is

Image result for pixie cut gif

It gets to that point about halfway down your ear and
you can tuck it back

Image result for male celebrities with bad haircuts

You try to celebrate every length milestone but it’s hard to be happy when this awful cut is looming over you

This Is What It's Like To Grow Out A Pixie Cut

Not a pixie, not yet a bob.

This Is What It's Like To Grow Out A Pixie Cut

In other words, a bowl cut.

Image result for male celebrities with bad haircuts gif

And it’s the worst.

Image result for dumb and dumber gif

This phase lasts forever, and pretty much your only option is to overcompensate with a decorative headband.

Image result for leo dicaprio headband

But headbands cause the worst headaches.

This Is What It's Like To Grow Out A Pixie Cut

You try hats.

Don’t compare yourself to celebs who effortlessly grow out their hair- it’s all a lie

Image result for pixie cut gif

You try a wig and you look nothing like Eleven

You think you’ll just have to cut it and
live with a pixie forever.

Image result for male celebrities with bad haircuts

Then one day, you wake up, and…
YOU’VE REACHED THE BOB!

Image result for male celebrities with bad haircuts

Until you’re inspired by a pixie and you just
cut it off again

Image result for male celebrities with bad haircuts gif

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

