Can I Become A Morning Person?

I have come into a recent phase of my life called “adulting” where apparently you have no money, your house is always dirty and time goes double the speed it did when you were in college. I can never seem to get it all done. I leave work at 5 get to the gym for 5:30 and I’m home around 7:00. I immediately take my bra and pants off make myself dinner and before I know it it’s 2:00 AM.

So apparently there is an option to wake up early, which certainly has its benefits. Thomas Jefferson once said, “The sun has not caught me in bed in 50 years.” Let’s just say that the principal author of the Declaration of Independence knows something about achieving success.

I’ve never been a morning person. I can sort of understand why one might wake up early for mimosas or Christmas but really there is no other reason. However, things need to get done and leaving myself only an hour to wake up, get ready and get to work is not good for my stress levels or outfit choices. So I’ve decided to tack on a little more time to my morning routine.

First get yourself to actually wake up. I’m not expecting myself to immediately have a pep in my step and a song in my heart but I have to work up to that point. That’s like a person who never ran before being the first on out of the gate at the New York Marathon. Slow down, we can’t shock your soul into actually doing things. While this might not be the easiest to do, especially for my night owls, it does have its perks!

Wake Up With the Sun

One of the best things ever is to actually see the day begin. Watch as the sun gradually rises over buildings, bridges, bodies of water, and just soak it in. It gives you a sense of connection to this world we live in, and an appreciation for the little things we may overlook from time to time.

Coffee Tastes Better in the AM

This is not based on science but from a girl who can drink coffee, all day every day, morning coffee is different. You’re relaxed, stress levels are minimal and you have a few moments to get lost in your own mind, it’s as good as it gets. There’s no rush to put in your order; there’s no hassle to transport it out into the world; there’s no rush to get caffeine induced into your mind – it’s just that perfectly poured cup of coffee in your hands to hug and drink at your leisure.

The Calm Before the Storm

It’s a crazy-busy-always-on-the-go type of place here, and the hustle and bustle is right around the corner. But, before all of that, there’s a silence in the city that only happens while many others are still asleep in bed. It’s a different world – a different experience – and it’s worth spending a few minutes of your time to acknowledge it. You’ll discover something new about your city that not everyone does.

More Time

There are only twenty-four hours in a day, we know this. It’s science. However (and this part, I can’t explain to you), when you wake up earlier, the day feels longer – you sense that you have more time. You can spend that time in the morning doing what you want, however you want, and free up time later for whatever it is that’s extremely-pressing-but-you’re-totally-swamped.

Mental Preparation For the Day

For me, there’s nothing worse than walking to work feeling like you’re entering a warzone. Getting whiplash from work emails/requests/clients/colleagues is painful. Truly. Okay, so you can’t always control this. BUT! If you can get your brain started a bit earlier, you’re mentally ready to take on what the day brings. It seems less like an attack, and more manageable when you’ve had time to gradually stimulate your mind.

New Look on the Day

We’re all a little bit crabby when we first wake up – sleeping is wonderful, I completely get that. However, that doesn’t change regardless of what time you wake yourself up. I’ve found that my days start off on the right foot when I’ve had time to prepare for the day ahead. Stress happens, yes, but if I can make sure I’m ready to rock and roll before diving head-first into the day…I’m more optimistic on the day’s events. If you can get yourself up and running earlier than usual, it’s sort of like stretching – you ease into it all. And you’d be surprised how well-equipped you are to bob and weave.

img_1027

Leave a Reply

